Starting a company is challenging. Coming up with a winning idea, sourcing capital, registering the company, getting official papers, hiring staff, developing a marketing plan and acquiring client are all tough heights to scale. This venture requires a lot of hard work, and many end up in failure. And this is why so many would-be entrepreneurs keep dreaming and planning, and never take the leap.

But for those who survive, the benefits of entrepreneurship are enormous and well worth the difficulties they face on the road to success. Hundreds of thousands of people across the country see the big picture every year and pull the trigger. If you’re about starting or you’ve just started your company, your next challenge is probably to break even and see some good numbers coming in.

Well, for a beginner that is 20 years old, growing a company to 7 figures is not an easy task. Somehow a young man who currently is 22 years old managed to do so at only 20 years of age. He is Filip Boksa who started and blew up a maid company pretty quickly. I wanted to know how he did it.

How easy was it to reach 1 million in revenue within a year of business and with zero experience?

To be completely honest, it wasn’t that hard, but it was a lot of work. I was in my first year of college when the business was started, so I had to balance between school and the business. It made it challenging, so as soon as some good numbers were coming in, I dropped out and focused every hour on the company.

What kind of working hours and what routine did you have during the beginning stages?

Well, the beginning stages were exhausting, haha. I would answer phones every day 8:00 AM to 7:00 PM Monday through Saturday and 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM on Sundays. When we weren’t busy, I would do marketing in the mean time and as much of it as possible. After closing hours, I would do more marketing and learning till about 1:00 AM at night and I would go to bed. The next day I would wake up a bit early to prepare myself, and I repeated the process for over a year straight without a single day off till it was time to hire someone and get our first office at the time. I even worked all the Holidays that year including Christmas, Christmas Eve, Thanksgiving and New Year. I did, however, manage to take a bit of time on Christmas Eve and Thanksgiving to eat with my family. Besides that, no one knew I existed. I worked so hard my mother would yell at me and tell me I’m insane and a workaholic.

Where did you learn marketing?

I regularly read books and blogs! I read so much information daily from the most successful people I could find based on the topic I was learning.

Whom did you study, if you don’t mind me asking?

Some of the successful individuals that I studied and still do were Bill Gates; you must study everything about the richest person in the world! Kobe Bryant and Michael Jordan; this might sound silly but I was always a huge fan of basketball, and I fell in love with these two players from day one, especially Kobe, mostly because he was still playing when I was watching the sport. I picked up a lot from them too. I admired their work ethics so much. I wanted to know everything about them and what makes them achieve such greatness. I also learned, to be great you have to copy and model yourself after the great, which is exactly what Kobe did. He copied Michael Jordan in everything he did and became great himself. Some other greats I studied were Tony Robbins, Steve Jobs, Elon Musk, Oprah, Napoleon Hill, Henry Ford, Dale Carnage and a few others. I studied a lot of successful people, and the list can go on!

What were the channels that were working well for you at the time?

For the first month, it was Craigslist. At that time, there was a program that allowed me to run ads non-stop. I took advantage of that until it stopped working and managed to make enough money to invest in SEO which didn’t come into play for a long time. In the meantime, we were building our reputation across sites such as Angie’s List, Yelp, and Thumbtack. By the time Craigslist stopped working, we were able to leverage these sites and convert as many customers into recurring customers for constant cash flow. After that, word of mouth became the best source. We then used Facebook ads and Google AdWords to gain even more clients which also proved to be a good investment.

When you first hit 1 million in revenue what was your reaction?

My first reaction was, I want more and look how easy this was. The beautiful thing was when I first started my goal was to make a $100,000 a year and live a happy life. Once the company did seven figures in revenue and I crushed my goals, my whole perspective changed. I no longer have a limit on my goals, and I want to achieve true greatness in my life by helping others find their passions and meet their goals.

What kind of advice do you have for future entrepreneurs?

Become passionate about something, believe in yourself even if no one else will, work super hard, surround yourself with successful/hardworking people, and learn as much as you can! If you follow those simple rules, you will be able to achieve greatness in business and life.

Brought to you by Aplus Plastic Box Co supplying all your #plastic storage solutions, Plastic Storage Containers, Australian Made,  Plastic Boxes, Plastic Bins, Plastic Storage BoxesFirst Aid Cabinets, Air ToolsToolsBone Creepers, Wheels and CastorsSpare Parts CabinetsParts Drawers and a Large Range of Coat Hangers.